Skip to content ↓
Learn Academies Trust

Learn Academies Trust

Liturgical Calendar

        Themes are linked with the Christian calendar and are depicted by colours; each season has a colour and changes with the pattern of Worship as shown below


  Season Mood

  When used


Joy and  Rejoice

Christmas, Easter, Epiphany, Ascension, All Saints


Thinking deeply and waiting




A time to grow

Ordinary days

(not celebrations)


Sad times and certain

Joyful times

Palm Sunday, Good Friday, Pentecost, Saints Days

(not celebrations)


        Some schools use these colours to support expression of Anglican distinctiveness and tradition.

        The liturgical seasons can be depicted with coloured material draped on a focus table or ribbon

        draped around a cross.  You can find more information about this on the following links: